Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), the statutory framework that sets the standards for learning, development and care for children aged 0 to 5 years old.

The EYFS framework (you can view the full framework here):

  • sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well
  • ensures children are kept healthy and safe
  • ensures that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start school

The EYFS promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and allows for a wonderfully broad range of knowledge and skills that support positive progress through school and life.

Areas of learning and development

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the early years learning that is delivered. All these areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving. The key areas include

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

These three areas are further supported by development in four specific areas

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design